Chad Ratifies Protocol on the Creation of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights



Arusha, 5 February, 2016: The Republic of Chad has deposited its instrument of ratification of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Right, bringing the number of African Union (AU) Member States to have ratified it to 30. The instrument was signed on 27 January, 2016 by Chad’s President H. E Idriss Deby Itno and immediately deposited at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The ratification was promised by Chad’s President when he met the President of the Court Hon Justice Augustino Ramadhani in N’djamena during a sensitization visit to the country on 16-17 December, 2015.

The President of Chad assumed the AU annual rotating Chairmanship last week in Addis Ababa from H.E President Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

The other States which have ratified the Protocol are: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana; Kenya, Libya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, Niger, Uganda, Rwanda, Arab Saharawi Republic , Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo and Tunisia.

The African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights is a continental court established by the AU to enhance the protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa.

In addition to the ratification of the Protocol, States have to make a Declaration required under Article 34(6) of the Protocol to allow individuals and NGOs to bring cases directly before the Court. Without such Declaration, the Court would have no jurisdiction over cases brought by individuals and NGOs.

So far, only seven states have made the Declaration. These are: Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivore, Ghana, Malawi, Mali, Rwanda and Tanzania.

The Court was established by virtue of Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The Protocol was adopted on 9 June 1998 in Burkina Faso and came into force on 25 January 2004.The Court officially started its operations in November 2006.

The AU is made up of 54 Member States.

Further information can be obtained from the Court’s website at:

Image source:

Text source: Press Release copied directly (unedited) from, 11th February 2016

  • Members CV
  • 9BRi Lobbying Forum
  • Expertise
  • Events & Calendar